Standard

Originally posted on Karen R. Sanderson's Blog:

Etymology

The word Valid comes from the Latin,
(As so many words do),
Originally meaning
Be Strong.

I want what I am feeling
To be valid,
But I do not want to
Be Strong.

Love
Is not so simple as
Validity.
It may be Old Germanic
(With a bit of Latin thrown
in too, just for good measure).
It means many things:
Desire,
Pleasure.
But it is also a bedfellow to the word
Leave.

I desire to pour myself
Into another human being.
To fill up all their dark spaces with
Light and understanding.
To feel pleasure in their company
And in the fact that they are near,
And always will be.

But I do not wish to be left alone,
And I do not wish to be strong.

***

I think of you easilyMairi 3

It is such a relief
Not to care anymore
Not to have that painful catch

View original 451 more words

4 responses »

  1. Shirani, you are my champion! What a great thing you are doing, re-blogging all the Poetry Week posts. I truly appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

