Quitting NaNoWriMo

It’s official.

I’m done with NaNoWriMo.

I finally decided to quit after sticking to a daily word count of 2,000 words. I don’t want to continue and haven’t uploaded my work onto the NaNoWriMo site. I don’t want to either.

It’s not that I didn’t like it. Getting past the word count was easy. The words just poured onto the screen. I type my stories onto the computer and don’t write them down the hard way- with pen and paper. The words moved fast but the story seemed to suffer as a result. I prefer to get the story right to adding on words to something I would have to go and edit for ages. So after two weeks of writing I decided to quit.

Doesn’t seem to bad either. And honestly I don’t know if I’ll use the story either. It seems like so much trash. Not worth cleaning up. I think the next time I’ll be better prepared. After all this was my very first attempt at Nanoing, or whatever they call it. The next time I’ll write the way I want, using the month to write my own words the way I want to rather than sticking to something new – creating a whole lot of words just for the sake of it. Maybe I’ll use the time to complete one of my novels that’s waiting to be completed. Now that’s an idea. Or maybe I’ll write poetry. One poem a day or one short story a day. That might be easier. At least I’ll have something of content rather than a whole lot of useless words.

2 thoughts on “Quitting NaNoWriMo

Comments are closed.